Class Assignment · CS4 · film making · Life · school · Uncategorized · Videography

CS4 Blog 9 – Production: True Colours

Now is the time when all the pre-production stuff, all you learned in class last semester, all you rehearsed for, all comes down to these days – production. This is when your actors choose whether or not to show up for shoots, producers go missing, and everybody gets at everybody’s throats for not cooperating. This, my friends, is when you see who is serious about their grades versus who will just ride on yours. Did I just say that? I think I did.

For the first film that was shot I assumed the role of Sound Designer and later had to assume the role of the leading lady on screen. Acting has never been my strong suit so imagine my frustration when my face was what I thought “serious” and having my director shout at me “Stop smiling! You’re supposed to be serious!” I kindly shouted back “This is my serious face!” It really wasn’t but I was too frustrated at the time to care. Yeah, not fun. Acting? I can now cross that off my list of career attempts, I’ll pass.

But despite the disagreements and the challenges met on the first shoot, I do think it put quite a few things into perspective for me.

  1. Team work is always key. If you want a successful shoot you have to be prepared to work together with people you may not like just to get the work done.
  2.  Learn to play the hypocrite. This was probably the most valuable lesson my 9th grade art teacher ever taught me and possibly the only thing I remember from that class. Learn to smile and nod in the face of those who get under your skin and on your last nerve. At the end of the day the goal in mind is to have the work completed and create a successful film, not to make friends.
  3. Learn and improve. Learn everything you can by watching others who are better than you at a specific area. Learning from somebody more talented will only help you in future. Don’t be jealous of what’s true.

Production taught life lessons and boy did I learn them.

Leave a Reply

